Active01585080Private limited companyMilnthorpe

JAMES ATKINSON & SON LIMITED

Significant control: Clifford Michael Atkinson (25–50%), Janet Elizabeth Simister (25–50%) and 1 more

Companies HouseCompanies House

From public filings as at 31 Aug 2026; may contain errors or be out of date. Verify at Companies House · Terms

Watch this company

Get an email when Companies House records a change for James Atkinson & Son Limited: status, filings, accounts, officers or owners. Free.

Not live yet: alerts start by 15 December 2026. We store your email and this company number only, for these alerts. If alerts don’t launch, we tell you and delete your address. Privacy

Coming soon · product and service lists

What does James Atkinson & Son Limited sell?

Registered activity: Retail sale in non-specialised stores with food, beverages or tobacco predominating (SIC 47110). We’re building product and service lists for UK companies. Get this one when it’s ready.

One email, only about this. If we don’t launch within 60 days we’ll tell you. Privacy
01

Summary

Generated from filed data · no estimates

JAMES ATKINSON & SON LIMITED is an active private limited company (company number 01585080) incorporated on 10 September 1981, registered in Milnthorpe. Its registered activity is retail sale in non-specialised stores with food, beverages or tobacco predominating (SIC 47110). Latest small accounts cover the period ending 31 March 2025, showing net assets of £2.03m and cash of £1.80m, with 17 employees on average. Net assets fell 6% on the prior period (£2.15m).

Peer position · net assets

By net assets it sits in the top quarter of 462 comparable companies in Lancashire (median £10k, upper quartile £43k).

02

Ownership and control

3 active · 4 other
  • Mr Clifford Michael Atkinson
    Individual · since 3 April 2019
    • owns 25–50% of shares
    • has significant influence or control
  • Mrs Janet Elizabeth Simister
    Individual · since 3 April 2019
    • owns 25–50% of shares
    • has significant influence or control
  • Mrs Sandra Nancy Atkinson
    Individual · since 1 February 2025
    • owns 25–50% of shares
    • has significant influence or control
  • Ms Amanda Jayne Atkinson
    Individual · since 6 April 2016 · ceased 4 April 2024
    • owns 25–50% of shares
  • Mr Christopher Jarrod Atkinson
    Individual · since 6 April 2016 · ceased 4 April 2024
    • owns 25–50% of shares
  • Mrs Elizabeth Atkinson
    Individual · since 6 April 2016 · ceased 21 June 2018
    • owns 25–50% of shares
  • Mr James Dennis Atkinson
    Individual · since 3 April 2019 · ceased 17 March 2024
    • owns 25–50% of shares

Persons with significant control hold 25% or more of shares or voting rights. Smaller shareholdings are only listed in confirmation-statement documents. Directors and secretaries: see the officers list at Companies House.

03

Key dates

Incorporated
10 September 198145 yrs ago
Next accounts due
31 December 2026in 66 days
Confirmation statement due
24 September 2027in 333 days

Due dates are expected from Companies House filing rules; confirm on the official register before relying on them.

04

Activity

SIC 47110
Retail sale in non-specialised stores with food, beverages or tobacco predominating
SIC 47300
Retail sale of automotive fuel in specialised stores
Accounts type
Total Exemption Full
Size band
SmallCompanies Act thresholds
05

Financials

2 periods on record · latest ending 31 March 2025
Net assets
£2.03m
−6%vs Mar 2024
Cash at bank
£1.80m
−9%vs Mar 2024
Turnover
Not reported
Employees
17
+6%vs Mar 2024
Net assets
£2.03m
Cash at bank
£1.80m
Average employees
17
Filed accounts by period, newest first
Period endNet assetsCashDebtorsCreditors <1yTurnoverProfitEmployees
31 March 2025£2.03m£1.80m—£118k——17
31 March 2024£2.15m£1.97m—£233k——16
Current ratio17.92Current assets ÷ creditors within one year
Cash per employee£106kCash ÷ average employees

Figures as filed in iXBRL accounts at Companies House. "—" means the line was not reported in that filing.

06

Filing and accounts signals

Facts from the register · no rating
  • Net assets above zeroNet assets £2,027,935 at 31 March 2025
  • Current assets at least 1.5× creditors within one yearCurrent ratio 17.92
  • Cash at bank of £50,000 or moreCash £1,796,190
  • Incorporated five or more years agoIncorporated 10 September 1981

Neutral facts read from the register and filed accounts, each with its evidence. They are not a rating, a prediction or advice, and may be incomplete or out of date. How each signal is derived.

07

Timeline

Newest first
  1. Confirmation statement duein 333 days
  2. Next accounts duein 66 days
  3. Accounts period endNet assets £2.03m · small accounts
  4. Accounts period endNet assets £2.15m · small accounts
  5. Incorporated
08

Similar companies in Lancashire

Same activity (retail sale in non-specialised stores with food, beverages or tobacco predominating), closest in incorporation date
09

Reminders for JAMES ATKINSON & SON LIMITED

Get an email before each filing deadline — accounts and confirmation statement — so nothing is late.

Source: Companies House register, snapshot 2026-08-31; accounts from the Companies House accounts data product. Open Government Licence v3.0. View on Companies House. Methodology · About · Markdown.