Active08835018Private limited companyWarrington

THORBURN OPTICAL LIMITED

Significant control: Andrew Mark Thorburn (50–75%), Nicola Thorburn (25–50%)

Companies HouseCompanies House

From public filings as at 31 Aug 2026; may contain errors or be out of date. Verify at Companies House · Terms

Watch this company

Get an email when Companies House records a change for Thorburn Optical Limited: status, filings, accounts, officers or owners. Free.

Not live yet: alerts start by 15 December 2026. We store your email and this company number only, for these alerts. If alerts don’t launch, we tell you and delete your address. Privacy

Coming soon · product and service lists

What does Thorburn Optical Limited sell?

Registered activity: Retail sale by opticians (SIC 47782). We’re building product and service lists for UK companies. Get this one when it’s ready.

One email, only about this. If we don’t launch within 60 days we’ll tell you. Privacy
01

Summary

Generated from filed data · no estimates

THORBURN OPTICAL LIMITED is an active private limited company (company number 08835018) incorporated on 7 January 2014, registered in Warrington. Its registered activity is retail sale by opticians (SIC 47782). Latest micro accounts cover the period ending 28 May 2025, showing net assets of £2,016, with 7 employees on average. As micro-entity accounts, no profit and loss account is filed, so turnover and profit are not public. Net assets rose 22% on the prior period (£1,659).

Peer position · net assets

By net assets it sits in the upper half of 146 comparable companies in Manchester (median £227, upper quartile £19k).

02

Ownership and control

2 active
  • Mr Andrew Mark Thorburn
    Individual · since 6 April 2016
    • owns 50–75% of shares
    • holds 50–75% of voting rights
    • can appoint or remove directors
  • Mrs Nicola Thorburn
    Individual · since 7 January 2017
    • owns 25–50% of shares
    • holds 25–50% of voting rights

Persons with significant control hold 25% or more of shares or voting rights. Smaller shareholdings are only listed in confirmation-statement documents. Directors and secretaries: see the officers list at Companies House.

03

Key dates

Incorporated
7 January 201412 yrs ago
Next accounts due
28 February 2027in 125 days
Confirmation statement due
21 January 2027in 87 days

Due dates are expected from Companies House filing rules; confirm on the official register before relying on them.

04

Activity

SIC 47782
Retail sale by opticians
Accounts type
Micro Entity
Size band
MicroCompanies Act thresholds
05

Financials

2 periods on record · latest ending 28 May 2025
Net assets
£2,016
+22%vs May 2024
Cash at bank
Not reported
Turnover
Not disclosed
Employees
7
No changevs May 2024
Net assets
£2,016
Average employees
7
Filed accounts by period, newest first
Period endNet assetsCashDebtorsCreditors <1yTurnoverProfitEmployees
28 May 2025£2,016——£110k——7
28 May 2024£1,659——£111k——7
Current ratio1.17Current assets ÷ creditors within one year

Figures as filed in iXBRL accounts at Companies House. "—" means the line was not reported in that filing; micro-entity accounts contain no profit and loss account.

06

Filing and accounts signals

Facts from the register · no rating
  • Net assets above zeroNet assets £2,016 at 28 May 2025
  • Net assets up 10% or more on the prior period+21.5% vs prior period
  • Incorporated five or more years agoIncorporated 7 January 2014

Neutral facts read from the register and filed accounts, each with its evidence. They are not a rating, a prediction or advice, and may be incomplete or out of date. How each signal is derived.

07

Timeline

Newest first
  1. Next accounts duein 125 days
  2. Confirmation statement duein 87 days
  3. Accounts period endNet assets £2,016 · micro accounts
  4. Accounts period endNet assets £1,659 · micro accounts
  5. Incorporated
08

Similar companies in Manchester

Same activity (retail sale by opticians), closest in incorporation date
09

Reminders for THORBURN OPTICAL LIMITED

Get an email before each filing deadline — accounts and confirmation statement — so nothing is late.

Source: Companies House register, snapshot 2026-08-31; accounts from the Companies House accounts data product. Open Government Licence v3.0. View on Companies House. Methodology · About · Markdown.